Kelly Camak

Turning Inward

In Reflections on January 1, 2015 at 9:09 pm

We are in the thick of the winter season. The Holidays are over. The cold and darkness lingers. There has been time away from the “business” of education work. Yet- the break is rarely a true departure from our profession. Some of us read. Some of us graded. Some of us planned. Some of us explored new resources and learning opportunities. And, some of us turned inward.

Turning inward is beckoned by the darkness and quiet of winter. Turning inward happens when we are away from the busyness of educational environments. Seeing and hearing our inner selves requires a new view, a break in routine and a need. The questions we easily avoid when tasked with the never-ending list of education work suddenly appear in the quiet. They creep into our thoughts and provoke re-examination of what we “know”.

Some common inner questions are:

Is this what I am still meant to do?

What is missing?

Where do I go from here?

How can I best support my colleagues? My students?

Do I ask for permission…or forgiveness?

Do I need a new mentor?

Do I have the time?

How can I make _____ work?

Inward confirmations can be:

It is okay to say no

It is time for _________

I can take that next step

I am going to apply for that program

__________ is worth the risk

What is important to remember when we turn inward is that we can find the answers and confidence within. When we take time to embrace the clarity that darkness and space provide, we enter into the light of the work and the light of the upcoming spring season firmly rooted in what we need to do next.

Leave a comment